Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences 2015-2016

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on the Management of Expenditures on Travel, Hospitality and Conferences, this report provides information on the total annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality and conferences for the Department of National Defence (DND) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2016. It also provides variance explanations from the previous year in each of these areas.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conferences incurred by federal departments and agencies are for the most part directly related to supporting departmental mandate(s) and the government’s priorities.

The National Defence Act establishes DND and the Canadian Armed Forces as separate entities, operating with an integrated National Defence Headquarters, as they pursue their primary responsibility of providing defence for Canada and Canadians. On behalf of the people of Canada, Defence stands ready to perform three key roles:

The Defence mandate is carried out with the support of a group of related organizations and agencies within the portfolio of the Minister of National Defence. For further details on selected Defence Portfolio organizations, please refer to National Defence and Canadian Armed Forces website. For further information on the legislative framework within which Defence operates, please see the DND Report on Plans and Priorities.

Total annual expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences of the Department of national Defence are summarized below:

Department of National Defence
Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences

Expenditure Category Expenditures for the year ending
March 31, 2016
($000)
Expenditures for the previous year ending March 31, 2015
($000)
Change
($000)
Travel: Public Servants $259,562 $250,792 $8,769
Travel: Non-Public Servants $9,051 $15,930 -$6,879
Total Travel $268,612 $266,722 $1,890
Hospitality $1,902 $1,488 $414
Conference Fees $1,006 $1,157 -$151
TOTAL $271,520 $269,367 $2,153
International Travel by Minister and Minister’s Staff (also included in Non-Public Servant travel)* $288 $129 $159

* Includes international travel that is part of a department’s program.

Significant Variances Compared to the Previous Fiscal Year

TRAVEL

Compared to fiscal year 2014-15, departmental travel costs increased across all categories by $2,153M or 0.79%.

Public Servants:
Compared to fiscal year 2014-15, departmental travel expenditures by public servants (including military members) increased by $8.8M, mainly due to increased travel in support of international military operations and exercises (e.g. Middle East and Ukraine, along with exercises in the Pacific and Europe), liaison with foreign militaries and governments, and other international commitments to facilitate the Government of Canada’s strategic priorities. Unfavourable international currency exchange rates also impacted expenditures.

Non-Public Servants:
Compared to fiscal year 2014-15, departmental travel expenditures by non-public servants decreased by $6.9M. This decrease was mainly due to reductions in contractor travel and reducing the number of meetings requiring travel..

HOSPITALITY

Compared to fiscal year 2014-15, departmental hospitality expenditures increased by $414K. This increase was mainly due to increased operations-related hospitality and international events where the department is engaging in either operational/strategic level engagements with our allies and/or military diplomacy to facilitate the Government of Canada’s strategic priorities. Unfavourable international currency exchange rates also impacted expenditures.

CONFERENCES

Compared to fiscal year 2014-15, departmental conference expenditures decreased by $151K. This decrease was mainly due to ongoing efforts within the department to find economies wherever possible; such as utilizing alternate methods to face to face meetings (e.g. virtual presence), sending minimal delegations, and reducing the number of meetings requiring travel.

MINISTER AND MINISTER’S STAFF

Compared to fiscal year 2014-15, departmental international travel expenditures by the Minister and Minister’s staff increased by $159K for fiscal year 2015-16. Several factors influenced the variance in expenditures. Approximately 10% of the international travel costs are related to travel by previous Ministers offices. The remaining related to the introduction of a new Minister of National Defence (and staff) in 2015 and increased requirements for international travel by the MND to represent the Government of Canada for international military, government and diplomatic obligations.

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences 2015-2016

Comme le prescrit la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil, de conférences et d’événements du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit une information sur les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN) pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016. Le rapport fournit aussi une explication des écarts dans chaque catégorie par rapport à l’exercice précédent.

Cette information est mise à jour annuellement et ne contient aucun renseignement non divulgué en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et organismes fédéraux appuient pour la plupart directement les mandats ministériels et les priorités gouvernementales.

Aux termes de la Loi sur la défense nationale, le MDN et les FAC sont deux entités distinctes travaillant en commun au Quartier général de la Défense nationale pour s’acquitter de leur principale responsabilité : assurer la défense du Canada et des Canadiens. Au nom de la population canadienne, les FAC et le MDN sont prêts à exercer trois rôles essentiels :

L’exécution du mandat de la Défense se fie à l’appui d’un groupe d’organisations et d’organismes connexes du portefeuille du ministre de la Défense nationale. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur certaines organisations du portefeuille de la Défense, veuillez consulter le site Web de la Défense nationale et des Forces armées canadiennes. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le cadre législatif dans lequel évolue la Défense, veuillez consulter le Rapport sur les plans et priorités du MDN.

Les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences engagées par le ministère de la Défense nationale sont résumées ci-dessous :

Ministère de la Défense nationale
Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences

Catégorie de dépense Dépenses pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016
(000 $)
Dépenses pour l’exercice précédent, se terminant le 31 mars 2015
(000 $)
Écart
(000 $)
Voyages : fonctionnaires 259 562 $ 250 792 $ 8 769 $
Voyages : non-fonctionnaires 9 051 $ 15 930 $ -6 879 $
Total des dépenses de voyages 268 612 $ 266 722 $ 1 890$
Accueil 1 902 $ 1 488 $ 414 $
Frais de participation aux conférences 1 006 $ 1 157 $ -151 $
TOTAL 271 520 $ 269 367 $ 2 153 $
Voyages internationaux par le ministre et le personnel du ministre (aussi compris dans les voyages des non-fonctionnaires)* 288 $ 129 $ 159 $

* Comprend les voyages à l’étranger qui font partie du programme du Ministère.

ÉCARTS IMPORTANTS PAR RAPPORT À L’EXERCICE PRÉCÉDENT

VOYAGES

Par rapport à l’exercice 2014-2015, les frais de voyages ministériels ont augmenté de 2,153 M$ ou 0,79 % dans toutes les catégories.

Fonctionnaires
Par rapport à l’exercice 2014-2015, les frais de voyages ministériels engagés par les fonctionnaires (y compris les militaires) ont augmenté de 8,8 M$. Cette augmentation est principalement attribuable à un plus grand nombre de voyages effectués à l’appui d’opérations et d’exercices militaires à l’échelle internationale (p. ex. au Moyen-Orient et en Ukraine, ainsi que des exercices dans le Pacifique et en Europe), à la collaboration avec des militaires et des gouvernements étrangers, et à d’autres engagements internationaux pour faciliter la réalisation des priorités stratégiques du gouvernement du Canada. Les taux de change défavorables ont également eu des répercussions sur les dépenses.

Non-fonctionnaires
Par rapport à l’exercice 2014-2015, les frais de voyages ministériels engagés par les non-fonctionnaires ont diminué de 6,9 M$. Cette réduction est principalement attribuable à une diminution du nombre de voyages effectués par les entrepreneurs et du nombre de réunions exigeant des déplacements.

ACCUEIL

Par rapport à l’exercice 2014-2015, les dépenses d’accueil ministérielles ont augmenté de 414 K$. Cette augmentation est principalement attribuable à un nombre accru d’opérations liées à l’accueil et d’activités internationales, dans le cadre desquelles le Ministère a participé à des engagements opérationnels ou stratégiques avec ses alliés ou à la diplomatie militaire en vue de faciliter la réalisation des priorités stratégiques du gouvernement du Canada. Les taux de change défavorables ont également eu des répercussions sur les dépenses.

CONFÉRENCES

Par rapport à l’exercice 2014-2015, les dépenses ministérielles de participation à des conférences ont diminué de 151 K$. Cette réduction est principalement attribuable aux efforts continus fournis par le Ministère pour réaliser des économies dans toute la mesure du possible : par exemple, recourir à des méthodes autres que les rencontres face à face (p. ex. une présence virtuelle), minimiser la taille des délégations et réduire le nombre de réunions exigeant des déplacements..

MINISTRE ET PERSONNEL DU MINISTRE

Entre les exercices 2014-2015 et 2015-2016, les dépenses de voyages internationaux du ministre et du personnel du ministre ont augmenté de 159 K$. Plusieurs facteurs ont influé sur la variance des dépenses : environ 10 % des frais de déplacement à l’étranger étaient liés à des déplacements effectués par le personnel des bureaux de ministres précédents. Le reste des coûts ont été engagés par l’introduction d’un nouveau ministre de la Défense nationale (et son personnel) en 2015 et une augmentation des besoins de voyage international par le ministre de la Défense nationale pour représenter le gouvernement du Canada en vue de satisfaire les obligations militaires, gouvernementales et diplomatiques.